top of page

CATHARSIS by Anna Mastropolo

Please join Serendipity Gallery in celebrating the opening of CATHARSIS by mixed media artist ANNA MASTROPOLO.

JUNE 12 - JULY 8

Opening reception

FRIDAY, JUNE 12th

6 - 9 pm

This event is free and open to the public. Come celebrate local art with refreshments and a live DJ!

Serendipity Gallery

3AA West Street, Litchfield, CT

Liliana Kleid, Gallery Director

860-921-1819

Anna Mastropolo

I have always been most interested in color, organic shapes, patterns, and texture. I draw inspiration from the Pattern and Decoration Movement, Surrealism, and Abstract Expressionism. My work has evolved from highly decorative, large-scale, organic abstraction, to mid-sized works that explore the idea of human emotion with subtle color palettes and loosely representational figures. I paint spontaneously and freely, with my pieces evolving before my eyes. Color studies and interesting materials have always driven my art, with organic and human forms developing secondarily to these relationships. After graduating with a BFA in Painting in 2010, my work was based primarily in organic abstraction, pattern, and decoration. I used many handmade papers, patterns, and textures to represent an organic, almost surreal world with vivid jewel tones and dream-like environments. My color studies developed 2 years ago when I decided to start working smaller, with an 8 x 10 picture plane. These tiny paintings, to me, capture any given moment from my larger works. I play with color relationships, unique materials, and spontaneous brushwork to create harmonious environments that are the most beautiful when shown together. My recent work explores human emotion, and I frequently paint gestures of figures, offset with imagery representing the concepts of freedom, love, isolation, and captivity.

To join the event please go to:


bottom of page